Blogging Break

I’ve had the feeling since December that I need a blogging break. School starts next week, and I have some creative projects that I want to focus on. Could I do both? Maybe, and if so, I’ll return sooner rather than later. Something in me is telling me it’s time to change and realign my energy. I spend a lot of time on sobriety blogs, and they were key in my first year of recovery. I’ve met some wonderful people (at least virtually) who’ve been of tremendous help.

I’m already sending out poetry and getting a few acceptances, which is great. I want to dial in on my fiction craft when I’m not working on poetry. I’ll say more on this on my other blog.

So if you don’t see me for a while, please don’t think I’ve gone off the rails and started drinking again. I’ll probably be back, and if so, I may start a different blog entirely. I confess to being motivated by A Woman Without Wine‘s decision to create a new blog for 2016. I’m not ready to do that, but perhaps I will in the future.

I’ll leave this post up until January 11, and then I’ll make both blogs private since there’s no way to simply deactivate a WordPress blog. If you want me to drop you a line if or when I re-enter the blogging world, drop me a line at sober_dragon@yahoo.com.

Onto new adventures, people…be well.

me and star wars stuff

Me, sober for one year (and two days)

About Robert Crisp

Just a lad who likes to create.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Blogging Break

  1. Congrats and good luck on your next adventure!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awwww, I’ll miss you! If you start a new blog please publish a post with new info. I have enjoyed chatting with you and wish you good luck in all your endeavors this year!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I shall reiterate Betty’s words and say I will miss you, but am excited for you and your new endeavors. Keep us posted about your next big adventure. Hoo-rah for you, Robert!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Robert Crisp says:

      Thanks. I have plans to come back after a break. The beginning of the school year is always so time-consuming, which I know you understand.

      Also, when I come back, I want to do it anonymously. I’m not ashamed of being in recovery–I mean, my tattoo is pretty darn clear–but I want to separate my blogging persona. I did that in the beginning, and then I came out, as it were. Since it’s a new year and my second year of sobriety, I thought a new blog would be appropriate. I’ll let you know when I return. : )

      Liked by 1 person

    • Writing for Ghosts says:

      I don’t know if you follow my other blog (writingforghosts.com) but that’s what I’m sticking with for now. It’s poetry and weird rantings, but I don’t write overtly about sobriety.

      Like

  4. That is exciting!
    Enjoy your new freedom!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ksdays100 says:

    Gotta go with your gut! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Writing for Ghosts says:

      I’m staying away from the sober blogosphere, but I’m running my creative writing blog again. That’s what my gut says to do. : )

      Like

  6. KimiAnne says:

    You will be very much missed! Good luck, though!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Alan Boyd says:

    Hi Robert, I enjoy reading your blog. May I ask, what is the best tip you can share about starting my own recovery blog?

    Respectfully,

    Alan
    ajbf150@gmail.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Robert Crisp says:

      Hi, Alan, thanks for reading and taking time to comment. I’d be happy to talk with you about sobriety blogging. If you can hang on until Thursday, I’ll be able to do more than throw together a hasty email. Hope you’re well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

