2016 – Sober, Active, Creative, Kind

S.A.C.K. – it’s not the world’s best acronym, but it’ll do. I couldn’t come up with just one word for the year, as some have done, but the four words sober, active, creative, represent how I want to live out 2016 and my life in general. Sobriety is the key to everything for me, and I work every day to maintain it. Some days, I have to work on it harder than others, like yesterday when the snakes in my brain were particularly active for no other reason than they’re…well, snakes in the brain, and that’s what they do. I ran through H.A.L.T. (speaking of acronyms) and that checked out, and still I thought about drinking a lot, and not because it was New Year’s Eve. That’s never been a big deal for me; I just drank on New Year’s Eve because that’s what I normally did.

I told my wife I was struggling with a bad attitude and general grumpiness (as if that wasn’t apparent), but I made it through the night. My little one and I watched the 1976 King Kong, and my oldest woke up just before midnight to watch the ball drop. After that, I hit the pillow…and my sober eyes popped open at 5:00 AM. I haven’t had a lot of time to myself these past few days, and if I’m going to get it, I need to wake up early. I’m sleepy, but I can sneak in a nap later today.

As I drifted off to sleep last night, I thought about all of you. I hoped that wherever you were, you were okay. If you were sober and clean, all the better, and if not, today’s a new day. It’s obviously a new year, too, but we can all start over, every moment of every day.

I hope this post finds you all well. Happy 2016.

 

About Robert Crisp

Just a lad who likes to create.
This entry was posted in addiction, alcoholism, early sobriety, mindfulness, recovery, self-care, sober, sobriety and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2016 – Sober, Active, Creative, Kind

  1. Happy New Year!
    I like the four words, too!
    xo
    Wendy

    Like

  2. SACK! I like it. Happy New Year, Robert. May you publish oodles in 2016.

    Ella xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

