On Vacation

Whew…I just double-checked final grades for my classes to make sure everything looked okay before signing off on them. A week of grading seventy papers and projects, dealing with emails, and making sure I took care of all the end of semester responsibilities is over. I’m in my sun room with the window open (high of 80 today, which is about right for south Georgia in the fall), drinking coffee, and coming up with a plan for my day and the week. Vacation = time for creativity, at least before we travel to see family for Christmas. Even then, I can usually sneak in a little time to jot down a poem or work on a song or two.

Today, though, it’s time to get back in submitting poems mode. I found some new online journals that look like a good match and some print journals that take poems the old-fashioned way, through the mail with a self-addressed stamped envelope for their decision. It’s how all the print markets used to do it; I remember at seventeen printing off poems and stories on my dot-matrix printer and carefully addressing envelopes (I still have to do that because my penmanship is atrocious).

After that, I’d like to work on music for a bit, hit a 12 o’clock meeting at my home group, catch a nap, and then get my son from the bus and play some video games with him. Speaking of games, it’s time to get my own game on and make some progress in Witcher 2. I miss playing games, and I usually catch up on them on breaks.

I can get a little ahead of myself with everything listed above and be self-critical if I don’t accomplish my goals, so I need to be aware of my thoughts. If I get overwhelmed, it’s time to stop before my obsessive traits come out to play.

Here’s to a sober Monday and the start of a relaxing and fulfilling week. I hope this post finds you all well.

About Robert Crisp

Just a lad who likes to create.
This entry was posted in AA, addiction, alcoholism, early sobriety, mindfulness, recovery, self-care, sober, sobriety, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Vacation

  1. Happy break! Sounds like some good things are in the works.*

    Like

  2. Untipsyteacher says:

    As a retired teacher, YAY BREAK!!!
    xo
    Wendy
    (tipsynomore.blogspot.com)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

