On Not Panicking

Today is my 42nd birthday. For some, like me, that means this:

42

I love The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and want to re-read the whole series. How can you not like a book that contains a line like this?

“For a moment, nothing happened. Then, after a second or so, nothing continued to happen.”

And…

“So this is it,” said Arthur, “We are going to die.”
“Yes,” said Ford, “except… no! Wait a minute!” He suddenly lunged across the chamber at something behind Arthur’s line of vision. “What’s this switch?” he cried.
“What? Where?” cried Arthur, twisting round.
“No, I was only fooling,” said Ford, “we are going to die after all.”

I used to be a self-pitying, cranky-ass drunk on my birthday (so, really, no different from any other day). I’m at the end of the semester, so I have a lot of grading to do, but I also managed to go to the gym, take my dog for a morning and afternoon walk, work on a song, and nap for an hour-and-a-half. Hopefully, I can write some poetry later.

Tonight, I’ll have a normal dinner with my family, and we’ll go out to eat Saturday. Not too shabby for entering into my 42nd year on the planet.

Happy, sober Thursday to all.

About Robert Crisp

Just a lad who likes to create.
This entry was posted in addiction, alcoholism, early sobriety, mindfulness, recovery, self-care, sober, sobriety and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On Not Panicking

  1. Happy birthday, Robert! Sounds like a love-ily birthday to me. And I totally agree about HG – soooooo good and hilarious! Enjoy your day.*

    Like

  2. Happy birthday, fellow Sagittarius. Have a great weekend!

    Like

  3. Untipsyteacher says:

    Happy Birthday!!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  4. me-fixing-me says:

    Wishing you a lovely non-cranky happy birthday and a fabulous happy new year. X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

