Taking Time to Notice the Flowers

Most mornings, I take my dog Charley (an adorable schnoodle) for a walk. It’s a nice way to start the day, knowing I don’t have to immediately rush to work. As we finished our walk by the railroad tracks, I noticed some blue flowers. I’m sure I’d seen them before, but today they struck me as particularly beautiful. I stopped Charley and I studied them more closely. I cupped one in my hand. As I write this, I just realized that among a series of horrible dreams last night that I can’t remember but left enough residual ick on me that I got up at 4:15 rather than chance any more of them, I also had a dream that I was describing the parts of a flower to a class. You know, the pistols and stamens and all that. It’s stuff I haven’t thought about in years, but I supposed it worked its way into my dreams and then my waking life.

purty blue flower

The flowers this morning acted as a nice reminder to slow down and enjoy the moment. Being present is one of the greatest gifts sobriety gives.

Happy, sober Monday to all.

About Robert Crisp

Just a lad who likes to create.
This entry was posted in addiction, alcoholism, early sobriety, mindfulness, recovery, self-care, sober, sobriety and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

