The Alcoholic’s Word of the Day: Crapulous

One of the great things about sobriety for me is the ability to read with clarity and interest and the ability to remember what I read. I never stopped reading (well, except for two years after graduate school because, man, I was burned out) during my drinking, but I wouldn’t say I was fully on-board with the text. I remembered general plot-lines, but lines didn’t strike me; the words didn’t inspire and inform my own writing, as is happening now. It’s such a good feeling to get in bed at night and read for a bit, feeling calm, immersing myself in the world of the book, and knowing I won’t wake up feeling like this:

This  never happened in my house...but it easily could have.

This never happened in my house…but it easily could have.

The other night, I was reading Paul Theroux’s The Last Train to Zona Verde: My Ultimate African Safari, when I came across the word “crapulous.” I raised my brows. Crapulous? Sounds like a word I would use daily if it meant what I thought it did (mistakenly, as it turns out). Here’s the definition:

Crapulous – marked by intemperance especially in eating or drinking;  sick from excessive indulgence in liquor.

Ah, crapulous, how I’ve been guilty of thee. I leaned over in bed and showed the word to my wife, who’d never seen it before, either. We shared a laugh, only because I’m on the good side of crapulous. My, what a bizarre sentence.

Anyhow, I thought I’d share the word with everyone and sincerely wish none of you a crapulous day.

About Robert Crisp

Just a lad who likes to create.
This entry was posted in addiction, buddhism, mindfulness, recovery, sober, sobriety and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Alcoholic’s Word of the Day: Crapulous

  1. I’m liking the zinginess of reading, not the crap of crapulous… (Although, it did make me laugh.)

    Like

  2. I was so crapulous last night. it was day 1, so no alcohol but I swear I ate all the icecream in the world! though, its much nicer to say “im never eating ice cream again” than the other way around. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

