Sobriety is for Bad-Asses

During my first few days of rehab, a heroin addict who was getting clean for the second time said he once had a t-shirt made that read “Sobriety is for Bad-Asses.” I liked the phrase (though I certainly didn’t feel like a bad-ass when he said it). Today, however, I moved a little more toward bad-assdom by getting my first tattoo to celebrate six months of sobriety:

Inked.

Inked.

I didn’t know what to expect since it was my first tattoo, and the pain was a little more intense than I expected, but I also handled it pretty well. I focused on my breath and stayed with the pain, thinking of the pain I caused my family during my years of drinking. In the end, the experience was wonderful and cathartic. My tattoo artist, Anthony at Black Orchid Tattoo, did a fantastic job. I love the dragon and the shield which looks like it’s taken a beating or two but is still up to the task. Anthony also suggested the Roman numerals for my sobriety date of January 5, 2015. I’m already planning my next one to celebrate one year of sobriety.

That’s all for me at this point. Onward and upward, sober friends….

About Robert Crisp

Just a lad who likes to create.
This entry was posted in AA, addiction, alcoholism, early sobriety, recovery, sober, sobriety, Twelve Steps and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

