Sober Vacation #2 On Deck

I’m not as nervous as I was before taking my first sober vacation, but I’m still a bit apprehensive because packing, preparing the animals, loading the car, and breaking-up squabbles between my children is enough to try a non-alcoholic’s patience. Once I arrive at my destination, unpack, and settle in, I’m generally fine. It’s just I can no longer slip out of my wet clothes and into a dry martini.

rimshot

But seriously, folks, I really do have a drinking problem.

drinking problem

That’s my time! Good night!

All right, for real for real, I don’t expect to have a hard time as far as cravings go, but I’m a little worried about being around so many people. I have to remind myself that my wife and family were great about giving me time away from the hub-bub when we visited St. Augustine. On this trip, there’ll be plenty of other kids for my kids to play with, and my wife will have her friends around her. And I, introvert that I am (who has some grading to do, anyway) will make periodic appearances and do a little stand-up.

Okay, not the last part, but all the rest. Carry on, sober people….

About Robert Crisp

Just a lad who likes to create.
This entry was posted in addiction, alcoholism, early sobriety, recovery, sobriety and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

