60 Days

I’m starting this post early in the day while at my coffee shop (it’s good to have a place I think of as mine). I went to a meeting this morning and met some new people, which is always good. I like starting the day with a meeting. I can’t do it often because of work, but I woke up this morning ready to hit the ground running because I knew I could start with a meeting and settle in for a few cups of coffee on this dreary, chilly day. It’s a fantastic day for coffee, reading, listening to music, and writing poetry.

Of course, other mundane tasks must happen as well–folding laundry, cleaning the kitchen and living room, dealing with the litter boxes–but I’ll make sure to get some time in to write and to make music. I haven’t written a song in nearly two weeks, and that’s starting to get to me. I have ideas floating through my head and spirit, and I know I’ll feel better when they emerge.

For now, it’s back to the house and domestic chores. I hope I don’t go downhill as the day wears on. One never knows these days….

Updating this now at 7:00 before I go to my Friday night AA meeting. I enjoyed the morning meeting, but that group doesn’t give out anything for sixty days, which rather surprised me. I’ll get my little marble tonight.

I chilled at the coffee shop, came home and did domestic duties (sadly, the house and laundry still need dire attention, but progress was made). I’ve leaving for my meeting in twenty-five minutes…and all I want to do is go to sleep. Cleaning the house and folding clothes should wear me out, but that seems to be the case. I’m sure I’ll perk up when I get among my people.

I must say, 60 days feels pretty good. Aside from my sudden weariness, that is. Easy does it, as they say.

About Robert Crisp

Just a lad who likes to create.
This entry was posted in AA, addiction, alcoholism, early sobriety, recovery, sobriety, Twelve Steps and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

