On the Dark Side

“Dark side’s coming now, nothin’ is real…” – “On the Dark Side” by Eddie & the Cruisers

Yeah, I know John Cafferty & the Beaver Brown Band wrote it, but for me, it’s always Eddie singing that. And baby, he’s singing about addiction as much as he’s singing about love.

So the Dark Side’s coming for me. I don’t say that to be dramatic (well, maybe a little dramatic), I’m just stating a fact. I have two normal days and two days on the Dark Side. At least I know it’s coming. I can somewhat prepare for it and know that I’ll emerge relatively unscathed.

Today is my 28th day of sobriety. I have no particular feeling about that. I always know I’m on the downhill slide when I start thinking Who cares if you have 28 days? Or 30? Or 67,798,487? You’re just going to wind up dead one day. The universe is a cold place that doesn’t give a damn about you.

So that’s the state of things on February 2, 2015. I give not a fig.

About Robert Crisp

Just a lad who likes to create.
This entry was posted in addiction, alcoholism, early sobriety, recovery, withdrawal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

